Personal Experiment 8: Left-Hand Writing (Being Ambidextrous)

Xue Zing
4 min readJul 27, 2021
Image from UnSplash by Kelly Sikkema

Most of the personal experiments I have written all seem to be semi-success stories.

That’s cause no one is interested in failure.

However, after much consideration, I think failures should be explored just as much as successes.

The concept or idea might still spark someone’s line of thinking.

Hence, the article today will be about one of my failed experiments.

Awareness of the issue,

Table tennis was my choice of a competitive sport as readers may know.

The experiment on that can be read here.

One of the interesting rules in table tennis was that you can switch hands during a match.

This means that players can choose to play a rally with either hand or even switch hands halfway during a rally, usually in desperate times.

Of course, at a high level, it doesn’t matter which hand you use. However, at the more amateur level, switching hands before a serve do cause a little confusion to the opponent and affect the spin of the ball as well.

I had a friend who did just that.

So that got me thinking, could I learn to be ambidextrous?

--

--

Xue Zing

Writing about thought provokers that go against conventional self-help